Ownership

Mistakes.
Now that’s not something that we like to talk about or think about. When I hear the word mistake I can automatically start thinking of specific mistakes I’ve made and how I felt or how I made someone else feel. Instead of letting my mind go deep enough to analyze my mistakes I quickly change my topic of thoughts or rational the reason behind the situation.
Maybe this is human nature, maybe it’s my defense mechanism, maybe it’s something I’ve learned in society or maybe it’s simply something I need to work on. That’s it.

Regardless I heard a very simple but quality statement from a stranger who knew nothing about me today. He said “we make mistakes in life, sometimes we learn and sometimes we need a few more mistakes but what shows your character and what really matters is how you deal with those mistakes.”

I awkwardly paused and starred at him as I waiting for him to continue on or tell me how he knew I needed to hear that but instead he sat back and quietly let me soak it in. Now for one, we need more advocates of truth and not fluff and for two, thank you sir for being respectful enough to wait and let me ingrain that.

It’s not an easy thing to accept when you make a mistake but ownership is key. I have learned to take complete ownership of my mistakes and problems. It’s a humbling lesson to learn but it’s kind of like a circle comparatively to the rest of life. If you are willing to commit to ownership you are willing to and have to make sure that you’re working harder in every other aspect of life to prevent making those same mistakes. It’s amazing what simple words will do to open doors of thought and freedom to let your mind think without the feeling of an old slap on the wrist.

Tonight I sat down to rest my mind and quiet my soul and my devotion said this:
Trust Me (Christ) in the depths of your being. When you feel flustered and frazzled on the outside, do not get upset with yourself. You are only human, and the swirl of events going on all around you will feel overwhelming. Rather than scolding yourself for your humanness, remind yourself that I am both with you and within you.

Bottom line. Take ownership, devote more, learn and adjust. Trust in Him. Keep moving forward.

Leave a Reply

